The Herb Alpert Educational Village
Inspired Education for an Evolving World
Discover

Administration

Luthern Williams
Head of School

310-828-5582 x 504
lwilliams@newroads.org
Harvard University, Masters of Education
University of Pennsylvania, BA
Ryan Hawley
Associate Head of School
Spectrum Program Co-Director

310-828-5582 x 206
rhawley@newroads.org
California State University Northridge, MA, School Administration
Indiana University, BA
Michelle Shanks
Chief Financial Officer

310-828-5582 x 237
mshanks@newroads.org
Southern Methodist University, B.B.A, Business Administration
Jeff Guckert
Upper School Director

310-828-5582 x 404
jguckert@newroads.org
Stanford University, PhD, Chemistry
Furman University, BS & MS, Chemistry


Alison Miller
K-8 Director

310-828-5582 x 406
amiller@newroads.org
Ithaca Collge, BA, Drama
University of California Los Angeles, Masters of Education

Martha Champlin
Dean of the Lower School

310-828-5582 x 602
mchamplin@newroads.org
DePaul University, M.ED, Elementary Education
DePaul University, BA, Marketing and Communications
Member, Association of Educational Therapists
Mario Johonson
Director of Student Life, Access, Equity, and Inclusion

310-828-5582 x 213
mjohonson@newroads.org
Loyola Marymount University, B.A., Western Philosophy,
University of California Los Angeles, M.ED, Urban Education
Elisa Schultz
Spectrum Program Co-Director

310-828-5582 x 211
eschultz@newroads.org
School Leaders Licensure Assessment Administrative Credential
Rutgers University, MA
Whittier College, BA, Psychology and Speech Pathology
Matt Steinhaus
Athletic Director

310-828-5582 x 215
msteinhaus@newroads.org
University of California at Santa Barbara, BA, Sociology
Zahir Robb
Director of Admissions

310-828-5582 x 116
zrobb@newroads.org
California State University Northridge, MA, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
San Diego State University, BA History
Yoon Mi Checchi
Director of Enrollment and Financial Aid

310-828-5582 x 209
ychecchi@newroads.org
University of Massachusetts Boston, Psychology
Candice Rosales
Director of Development

310-828-5582 x 407
carosales@newroads.org
State University of New York at Cortland, BA, Communications Studies
Dawn Fairchild
Director of Communications and Marketing

310-828-5582 x 128
dfairchild@newroads.org
Georgia Southern University, BA, English
Mark Vickers-Willis
Director of Community Engagement

310 828 5582 ext.214
mvickers@newroads.org
University of Melbourne, BA, Politics/History
University of Melbourne, M.Teach, Humanities
University of Melbourne, M.Ed, Wellbeing

New Roads School

3131 Olympic Blvd.
Santa Monica, CA 90404
ph: 310-828-5582
Directions
Contact Us
New Roads School is a college preparatory K-12 private independent school in Santa Monica, CA, serving over 650 school age children from the greater Los Angeles area. New Roads School provides an inspired educational program from which an authentically diverse student population, mirroring the rich diversity of Los Angeles, develops a personal dedication to learning, a respect for independent thinking, and an expanding curiosity about the world and its people.